The electric car is one of the hottest tech trends of the past few years.
But it is one that will have to be muted for now, as a new pilot program in California is poised to make it more difficult for people to buy and operate them.
The California Public Utilities Commission voted Monday to prohibit the purchase and sale of all electric cars and light trucks by anyone younger than 18 and anyone who has been convicted of a felony.
It’s the first time the commission has used that language to block a major car or light truck purchase.
The commission voted 3-2 to reverse a decision that had been in place for years.
In December, the California Department of Motor Vehicles had approved the use of the term “driving under the influence” for people convicted of certain felony offenses, including driving under the effects of drugs, driving under a influence of alcohol, driving on a suspended license, driving while disqualified, driving with a suspended registration or driving with an expired license.
The agency had also approved the purchase of electric vehicles by minors and those who have not had a driver’s license.
But the commission said that use of that term did not apply to those under the age of 18 who were already legally licensed to drive a vehicle.
It’s not just a new term for the commission, however.
The commission also said it would limit the use and sale by anyone who is already a registered electric vehicle owner or is otherwise lawfully licensed to do so.
That would include anyone who owns or leases a vehicle in California.
This decision comes amid an uproar over a controversial proposal that would have allowed those older than 18 to purchase a car or truck and then drive it.
Under the new language, violators of the ban would have to complete a program called “community service,” and they would be prohibited from purchasing, owning or leasing electric vehicles.
They would also have to spend at least 20 hours a week on community service.
It would also include at least four hours of unpaid driving time a week.
For the first year, the ban will apply only to the purchase or sale of vehicles, not to the ownership of vehicles.
The new language would allow for the sale of electric cars but not trucks.
“This is not a ban on cars,” Commissioner Mike Wright said in a statement Monday.
“It’s a ban for young people.”
A California State Assemblywoman, Linda Sanchez, introduced a bill last month that would give the state more flexibility in its regulation of the use, sale and ownership of electric vehicle.
The bill would create a new program to allow the sale and use of electric models for individuals under 18, and it would also require that the vehicles have a minimum EPA rating of at least 50 miles per gallon.
California’s Department of Transportation has been working to improve the electric vehicle system, which has been in the news after a series of high-profile accidents involving electric vehicles, including one in which a California man died when his Tesla collided with a utility pole and was forced to shut down.
Tesla’s Autopilot is designed to automatically respond to pedestrians and other road users in the event of an accident, including a vehicle that is traveling at speeds exceeding 50 miles an hour.
The feature is intended to prevent cars from losing control and veering into pedestrians and others on the road.
Last week, the company said it had already implemented a new system that requires vehicles to remain in Autopilots lane for up to 15 seconds to allow them to be turned off.
Tesla says the safety feature is the first in the U.S. to be implemented with the help of autonomous technology.